Busy-Bee Baking Company produces a variety of breads. The plant manager would like to expand production into sweet rolls as well. The average price of a loaf of bread is $1. Anticipated price for a package of sweet rolls is $1.50. Costs for the new level of production are as follows:
Total fixed costs (traditional) …… $185,000
Total fixed costs (ABC) …… 57,500
Busy-Bee believes it can sell 600,000 loaves of bread and 200,000 packages of sweet rolls in the coming year.
1. Prepare a contribution-margin-based income statement for next year. Be sure to show sales and variable costs by product and in total.
2. Compute the break-even sales for the company as a whole using conventional analysis.
3. Compute the break-even sales for the company as a whole using activity-based analysis.
4. Compute the break-even units of each product in units. Does it matter whether you use conventional analysis or activity-based analysis? Why or why not?
5. Suppose that Busy-Bee could reduce the setup cost by $100 per setup and could reduce the number of maintenance hours needed to 1,000. How many units of each product must be sold to break even in this case?